WEB DESIGN SERVICES

CREATE ACCOUNT

{*modulepos reg_form_popup*}

FORGOT YOUR PASSWORD?

*

JoomConnect Blog

JoomConnect is the Marketing Agency for MSPs. We strive to help IT companies get more leads and grow. We rock at web design, content marketing, campaigns, SEO, marketing automation, and full marketing fulfillment.

Facebook 101 - Hiding Your Personal Profile [Social Media 101]

Facebook 101 - Hiding Your Personal Profile [Social Media 101]

Facebook: the social media platform that people love to hate. We’ve come across so many business owners so adamantly against this platform, despite the benefit that it can bring to their business.

The problem is, if you hate Facebook enough to not have your own personal profile, then you can’t manage your Facebook Business Page.

We’ve already discussed the incorrect option that some people take: creating a fake profile to manage the page. What you can do instead is change the settings on your own personal Facebook profile so that you’re more or less ‘hidden’ from those using the platform.

How Do I ‘Hide’ My Personal Facebook Account?

To hide your Facebook profile from the general public, you’ll have to adjust your profile’s settings. Here is how to do so from a desktop computer.

1. Login to your Facebook profile, and click the arrow in the upper right corner of the Facebook page. Then, click “Settings”.

2. In the menu on the left, click “Privacy”. This will take you to a page titled, “Privacy Settings and Tools”, which should look something like the image below.

Facebook Privacy Settings

3. Under the “Your Activity” section, edit “Who can see your future posts?” and change it to “Only me”. You can then click the “Limit Past Posts” link to change all of your past posts to be viewed by “Friends Only”. Other options:

  • If you’re more interested in hiding your profile from people not in your list of friends, you can select “Friends”, which will only allow your posts to be viewed by those on your friends list.
  • You can select the “Friends except…” options to only allow your posts to be seen by some of your friends.
  • You can also create a “Custom” option to “include and exclude friends and lists”, but keep in mind this will require you to update and maintain your settings if you are adding new people to your Friends list.

5. Under the “How People Find and Contact You” section, you can do the following:

  • Set “Who can send you friend requests?” to “Friends of friends
  • Set “Who can see your friends list?” to “Only me”, “Friends”, or “Custom
  • Make sure “Who can look you up using the email address you provided?” is set to “Friends
  • Make sure “Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?” is set to “Friends
  • Edit “Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?” and uncheck the box that allows this.

6. In the menu on the left hand side, go to “Timeline and Tagging”. This will take you to a page that should look similar to the following:

Facebook Timeline and Tagging Settings

7. Under the “Timeline” Section:

  • Set “Who can post on your timeline?” to “Only me
  • Set “Who can see what others post on your timeline?” to “Only me
  • Edit “Allow post sharing to stories?” and set it to “Disabled” to turn this off

8. Under the “Tagging” Section:

Edit “Who can see posts you're tagged in on your timeline?” and change it to “Only me

Change “When you're tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can't already see it?” to “Only me

Change “Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?” to “No one

9. Under the “Review” Section, edit “Review posts you're tagged in before the post appears on your timeline?” and select “Enabled” to make it so that you have to approve friends tagging you. When they do tag you, you can choose to not accept the tag so that you won’t be tagged in that particular post.

10. In the menu on the left, go to “Location” and make sure that your location history is off.

Your Facebook Profile Is Now (Mostly) Hidden!

This is about as close as you can get to “erasing” your Facebook Profile apart from deactivating it all together. Since deactivating your profile wouldn’t allow you to manage your Facebook Business Page, this is the best solution if you want to be the one in charge of managing your Business Page.

If you would like additional insight into using Facebook from the perspective of a small to medium-sized MSP, check out the other blogs we’ve written on the subject, and ask any questions that you have here.

Need additional help getting your social media channels the way you want them to be? We have a service for you! The Ultimate Social Media Rig can set up and configure your accounts on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Youtube for you to your liking, and will train you on social media best practices. Reach out to us to learn more.

Conquering MSP Problems (Part 2): Finding the Time...
CPT: Fast Food in Slider Form
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Guest
Monday, May 27 2019

Captcha Image

TOP